Painting Portals

Those of you who read my update about all my recent processing may remember reading that I envisioned myself painting Sacred Geometry doors as portals. My friend Shana synchronously found some old doors in her garage and gave me the first one a couple weeks ago. I finished it yesterday–both sides. For now, I’m calling it Payuurteel (an ancient word for “portal”). The energy’s more potent in person, but hopefully Stephen managed to capture the essence in these photos.

Here’s what I’ve been up to:


The front shown above. The colors are more vibrant in person, and the door looks more forest green than Army green. The Rune symbols down the sides look subtle in person, but you can still clearly see them in columns on the left and right.

Some close-ups of the panels below:

(This is the very bottom of the front: “There are things known and things unknown and in between are the doors.” –Jim Morrison)

Note: I did not post the top piece beneath the molding or the molding itself, as they were too dark. The piece below the molding says in Runes, “I Am a” and then shows a drawing of a Hypercube, symbolizing the Astral Plane. The molding with the Fibonacci Series painted into it represents the Archetypal Upperworld and the Golden Spiral.

Thanks to Shana for the Jim Morrison quote! And thanks to Shawn Blackwolf for his information on Runes and the Runa Faery Tradition.

Since I designed this door as a portal, I felt called to paint “The Other Side” even if no one sees it. Below is the back with the Moola Mantra painted onto the panels.

My loose idea was that on the front of door (visible reality), we have all the building blocks of creation: Runes, the Fibonacci Series inscribed into the upper molding, the Four Elements and all sorts of Sacred Geometry. What happens when we go through the portal to the Other Side?

Oneness. The Moola Mantra embodies the unification of male and female energy, creation, dynamic and static and is kind of like the last line of the Dark Side of the Moon: “Everything under the sun is in tune but the sun is eclipsed by the moon.”

It sure feels nice to paint again! Other than a few tiny projects, this is the first major painting I’ve done in over a decade. Forgot how much I loved it. 🙂 Anyway, Happy New Year! Hope you enjoyed the powerful Blue Moon/Lunar Eclipse and are looking forward to a Solar Eclipse on the 15th. Strange, beautiful times we live in, no?

Many Blessings,

Laura

8 responses to this post.

  1. I luuurve it. 😉 Bella! Makes me want to quit my job and paint things….

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by laurabruno on January 6, 2010 at 7:26 am

    Thanks!!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by Dawn on January 9, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    I love the concept. I am compelled to learn more about the symbols and their meanings. It’s absolutely lovely and I’m sure it’s more so in person. From the sounds of it, it brought you much joy to do. Thank you for sharing this with us! Dawn

    Like

    Reply

  4. […] I designed the first door as a portal, this one embodies some key principles of Alchemy, which I’ve studied since I read […]

    Like

    Reply

  5. […] have spent much time meditating, praying, wandering and wondering by the Lake, in my apartment with my portal doors, and around the community. I’ve also gone to two John of God healing events with his […]

    Like

    Reply

  6. […] doors as portals, I always paint some kind of mantra or Scripture on the back of them. Payuurteel has the Moola Mantra on The Other Side, and The Alchemy Door now features the Gayatri Mantra. The […]

    Like

    Reply

  7. […] word Payuurteel ties Door Number 15 back to Door Number 1, the painting that began the portal door series, and the heart amplifies the mysteries of Love […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment