Garden Update ~ It’s Iris Time

The irises have begun to bloom!

The columbine have also outdone themselves this year, blooming in different colors, too:

I saw our resident frog a couple weeks ago, so I bought him a turtle water dish on our recent trip. I put it near the area where I saw him. He does such a fantastic job patrolling for mosquitos and helps with the cabbage moth eggs on my kale. I wanted to show some appreciation!

The harvests have been tasty and colorful, too. This one formed the base of Tuesday’s lunch:

So far, this is my favorite year of gardening in Kalamazoo. I feel like I finally have “just the right amount of too much” garden again. It’s not nearly as crazy as my Goshen mini farm, but, wow, we’ve got a lot of produce hidden in plain view. I do love unusually colored foliage!

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Peggy Duffy Johnson on May 29, 2022 at 8:26 am

    Gorgeous. I hope you have a wonderful Memorial Day weekend. I look forward to connecting soon. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Oh so love those Irises … Very special… and your resident frog I am sure will thank you for the water in return for all the slugs and insects he keeps off your Kale..
    Your garden looks fantastic Laura.. ❀ πŸ’šπŸ₯¦πŸ¦‹

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Lovely! Β Enjoy the radish!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment