Dream On: Why Sleep is So Important

The folks at frugaldad.com sent me this infographic on sleep, and I thought I’d share it here. Having had my own brain injury and working with so many other TBI survivors, I know firsthand and professionally just what a difference a good night’s sleep makes for healing, brain function and mood. In 2010, I lived in an apartment with an old fashioned elevator pulley directly above my bed. That same attic housed many of the doors I painted that year, but, my goodness! Steady sleep did not come easily.

I do credit all the wake up calls for having so many dream downloads that year, but my waking life has infinitely improved since moving to a house where I often sleep the whole night through. I also see from close, objective observation how many factors sleep deprivation affects — as well as how such things miraculously resolve themselves during extended periods of sleep recovery. A high raw food diet certainly shaves several hours off required sleep, but the adrenals, brain, outlook, wound healing and general experience of life sure love some zzzzz’s.

sleep

Source: http://frugaldad.com

7 responses to this post.

  1. i LOVE sleep! many don’t understand when i explain my needs for sleep that aren’t like what they “think” theirs are. needless to say, i know i am at my best when i get a good night sleep of at least 8 hours (9 is great too!). if i even go one or two days at deprived sleep or sleep at like 5 hours – 6 hours, my body and mind is immediately affected. i never noticed the less need of sleep when i was 100% raw – although during the day i did feel extra vibrant and energized when awake. my body and personal needs are just based on good sleep. i think we each need to find that personal balance that helps us reach our optimal.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by laurabruno on April 10, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    I agree. Personal balance and optimal function are the best things to focus upon. I went for a year or more with very little sleep, writing multiple books, walking 3-6 miles/day, waiting on a sick husband, lugging groceries and big water bottles around when he was too tired to take me to the store, doing sessions, socializing, etc. I could never have done all that w/o the raw food, as I would feel so foggy, tired and irritable that things just rapidly would begin to fall apart. On 100% raw, I could sail along for 16-20 hours of busy-ness. But that came with a price tag, and I spent 2010 and 2011 replenishing my minerals, sleep, adrenals, etc. Raw food helps, but we still eventually need some good, old-fashioned rest. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by rick millward on April 10, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    meditation helps me with my getting up numerous times each night due to some medical problems I deal with but I don’t let it take me out of my everything is spiritual way of living, so I go with the flow and enjoy!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Posted by laurabruno on April 11, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    Glad you’ve found what works! I often meditate if I can’t sleep, as well. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  5. I love these illustrated pictures that explain omthing so simple but show how complex it is. People take sleeping for granted but its so important for us to properly funciton.

    Like

    Reply

  6. I work for a sleep doctor and we are always looking for articles to share in our waiting room, this is great! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment