Dream On: Why Sleep is So Important

The folks at frugaldad.com sent me this infographic on sleep, and I thought I’d share it here. Having had my own brain injury and working with so many other TBI survivors, I know firsthand and professionally just what a difference a good night’s sleep makes for healing, brain function and mood. In 2010, I lived in an apartment with an old fashioned elevator pulley directly above my bed. That same attic housed many of the doors I painted that year, but, my goodness! Steady sleep did not come easily.

I do credit all the wake up calls for having so many dream downloads that year, but my waking life has infinitely improved since moving to a house where I often sleep the whole night through. I also see from close, objective observation how many factors sleep deprivation affects — as well as how such things miraculously resolve themselves during extended periods of sleep recovery. A high raw food diet certainly shaves several hours off required sleep, but the adrenals, brain, outlook, wound healing and general experience of life sure love some zzzzz’s.

sleep

Source: http://frugaldad.com

7 responses to this post.

  1. i LOVE sleep! many don’t understand when i explain my needs for sleep that aren’t like what they “think” theirs are. needless to say, i know i am at my best when i get a good night sleep of at least 8 hours (9 is great too!). if i even go one or two days at deprived sleep or sleep at like 5 hours – 6 hours, my body and mind is immediately affected. i never noticed the less need of sleep when i was 100% raw – although during the day i did feel extra vibrant and energized when awake. my body and personal needs are just based on good sleep. i think we each need to find that personal balance that helps us reach our optimal.

  2. Posted by laurabruno on April 10, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    I agree. Personal balance and optimal function are the best things to focus upon. I went for a year or more with very little sleep, writing multiple books, walking 3-6 miles/day, waiting on a sick husband, lugging groceries and big water bottles around when he was too tired to take me to the store, doing sessions, socializing, etc. I could never have done all that w/o the raw food, as I would feel so foggy, tired and irritable that things just rapidly would begin to fall apart. On 100% raw, I could sail along for 16-20 hours of busy-ness. But that came with a price tag, and I spent 2010 and 2011 replenishing my minerals, sleep, adrenals, etc. Raw food helps, but we still eventually need some good, old-fashioned rest. :)

  3. Posted by rick millward on April 10, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    meditation helps me with my getting up numerous times each night due to some medical problems I deal with but I don’t let it take me out of my everything is spiritual way of living, so I go with the flow and enjoy!

  4. Posted by laurabruno on April 11, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    Glad you’ve found what works! I often meditate if I can’t sleep, as well. :)

  5. I love these illustrated pictures that explain omthing so simple but show how complex it is. People take sleeping for granted but its so important for us to properly funciton.

  6. I work for a sleep doctor and we are always looking for articles to share in our waiting room, this is great! Thanks for sharing :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 953 other followers