Inspiration

I collect quotes and gather words, just for fun. Here are a few of my recent favorites:

“Wherever you are is the entry point.”
–Kabir

“I felt in need of a great pilgrimage so I sat still for three days and God came
to me.” –Kabir

“I have become my own version of an optimist. If I can’t make it through one
door, I’ll go through another door – or I’ll make a door. Something terrific
will come no matter how dark the present.” –Tagore

“Everything comes to us that belongs to us if we create the capacity to receive it.” –Tagore

“The future enters into us, in order to transform itself in us, long before it
happens.” –Rilke

“For what I possess seems far away and what has disappeared proves real.” –Goethe

“Condemnation does not liberate. It oppresses.” –Carl Jung

“I don’t believe people are looking for the meaning of life as much as they are looking for the experience of being alive.” –Joseph Campbell

“Love is a friendship set to music.” –Joseph Campbell

“We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us.” –Joseph Campbell

“If it’s that difficult for a rich man to get into heaven, think how terrible it must be for a poor man to get in. He doesn’t even have a bribe for the gatekeeper.” –Reverend Ike

“The mind is its own place, and in itself/ can make a Heaven of Hell, a Hell of Heaven. Awake, arise or be forever fall’n.” –John Milton

I was also listening to Pink Floyd’s “Animals” album and found embedded in the “Sheep” track, the 23rd Psalm:

“The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.”

… I’ve always loved the 23rd Psalm, but I was so surprised to find it on Animals! I keep having dreams about the number 37, which corresponds to the King of Cups in the Tarot. My cup runneth over … Wishing each and every one of you an abundant life and a Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Giacinta on March 21, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    Thanks, Laura! Much love, an abundance of blessings, and peace! šŸ™‚ Giacinta

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment