Garden Refresh: Impatiens, Veronica, and Russian Sage

It’s that time of year where the garden can easily go through a lull of blooms. I let some carrot go to flower (the big fluffy white umbrellas to the right), and these have reduced my need to pluck off the green caterpillars munching on my collards and kale. Umbels like carrots, flowering parsley, and coriander/cilantro (also tucked in there) attract predatory wasps that eat the wormie dudes.

Years ago, I ordered a “60 Days of Lilies” package to carry me through this time, and tickseed offers yellow stars that would take over any area if I let them.

Still, I’ve noticed some garden holes that would have become more apparent once I harvest garlic and once the magenta yarrow and white daisies die down. What’s a CPL to do?! (CPL=Crazy Plant Lady.)

The answer, of course, is to walk to the nearest garden center and see what’s blooming. Momma Jane always grew shade-loving impatiens on her porch or balcony, and she helped me pick out some pink ones in the clearance section. I clearly heard her in my head, advising which eight-pack looked hardy enough to continue blooming in my shady spots:

Since I was already there, I picked up some additional Stella Oro daylilies to add to a pot of chives next to the garden sage gone wild. The new ones aren’t blooming yet, but they will eventually look like this pot of yellow next to the lavender:

One of the larger beds up front needed a new anchor plant since I removed the “Blue Kazoo spirea,” which seemed very unhappy next to chives. I planted the whole bed with garlic, which I will soon remove. I didn’t know what to add there, but it turned out to be Russian sage:

It looks tiny and delicate now, but if all goes well, the Russian sage will grow 36-48″ tall and two feet wide, making it a focal point in front of the holly and also a nice window view from inside the house. That “reblooming iris” in the ground behind the sage needs to be moved by the mailbox where it will get all day sun. It’s supposed to bloom twice per season, and I’ve only gotten one bloom from it in five years in that location. The Russian sage won’t love this spot either, but I hope that keeps it manageable. In a full sun spot, it could easily take over the entire bed.

Now, we move onto to one of my favorite flowers: Veronica! I love the name but also the spiky form. Yesterday’s selection matches the impatiens:

You can see it here next to a volunteer borage (left), some Red Russian kale (which actually has purple stems), a newly transplanted basil, and the edge of a dwarf tomato plant. I’ve grown purple and white Veronica before, but somewhere along the way, those perennials stopped coming back. Also called “speedwell,” Veronica adds such fun texture and form to a cottage garden.

And this is, indeed, a cottage garden with lots of veggies and herbs tucked among the flowers. In the right conditions, eggplant makes a lovely ornamental!

It’s still a very low key garden this year, but I love the recent upgrades and the wabi sabi ordered chaos:

Out back, the red hot pokers (actually orange) and orange daylilies honor my half-Dutch hubby’s favorite color and the Netherlands:

That little bed in the center has a borage seedling and (hopefully) some okra and nasturtiums to come. If not, I’ll just let the neighboring plants camouflage the empy bed. The back garden is extra carefree this year.

Happy Friday! How grows your garden?

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by snurfi on June 28, 2024 at 10:07 am

    A note about the non-blooming Iris: the corms must be exposed or uncovered in order to bloom. Love your descriptions and gardens! I get ideas for mine, which are a similar style. Rabbits are still eating my stuff despite the clover, etc. in the grass. Several adult rabbits with voracious appetites! Had to fence several things.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    • Thanks for the tip on the irises. I have thyme and vinca on the ground there, so maybe they are too covered. Come to think of it, that might also be the issue by the mailbox, where very few of my irises bloom. The ones by the street always do, and I couldn’t figure it out, because they’re so exposed there. I guess they like it! I may need to add another shallow bed up front and put irises in there. Hmmm … I don’t want to jinx myself by saying the groundhog left … but so far so good. I use hot pepper flakes on a lot of my plants if I catch bunnies or groundhogs nibbling. After a while, they don’t return. Your mileage may vary. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

      • Posted by snurfi on June 28, 2024 at 10:25 am

        That would be a good use of my pepper flakes. I tried cayenne powder—didn’t work! I have tried predator urine and it worked but we are having so much rain, it all washes off!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

  2. Just heading out here again but was a nice little send off seeing your garden beauties. Glad you’re enjoying a lower key garden year!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  3. Posted by manyhahama1955 on June 28, 2024 at 12:22 pm

    Hello dear Laura,
    Thanks for sharing your beautiful “Wabi Sabi ordered chaos” (LOL) garden photos. I love it. I’m about to harvest the garlic we planted last fall, but it started raining when I was out for a walk. The pink coneflowers are going off and have pretty much taken over that part of the garden with other perennials. The Brown eyed Susan’s are coming on and the Asters are already blooming which is weird…they usually don’t come till later. And, the Maximillian Sunflower is taking off this year. Well, our beautiful Mother Gaia is in some kind of “Wabi Sabi ordered chaos” at the moment…balance will be found again one day in a new way and a new world. : ) Sending so much love to you! And, happy gardening!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    • Good to hear from you, Sophia! Yes, some things seem to be blooming out of order this year, or really early. Quite odd. My friend in Madison’s garden is months ahead of mine, which is very strange, but who am I to argue with Mother Gaia?! Much love and happy gardening to you, too!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

Leave a comment