Autumn Beauty Sunflower

This stowaway from Goshen finally bloomed this week. I’ve enjoyed the color next to the purple maple tree, as well as the hummingbird I saw yesterday sipping sunflower and cosmos:

IMG_1376

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kieron on September 10, 2017 at 7:53 am

    I saw a hummingbird yesterday, too! It zipped in circles over the patch of tall white cosmos, and then must have seen me sitting nearby, and zoomed away. I wondered if cosmos has any attraction for hummers… I’m really into cosmos this year, because they ignore drought and wind, and tolerate poor soil, and they appear in pretty much any color (except blue and black), multiple sizes and heights, and their seeds are really easy to collect for the next year, etc. And the flower essence is also useful for speaking truth from the heart. 🙂 What’s not to love?

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Cool! Yes, I love cosmos for the same reason. I did find that they will NOT grow flowers in good soil. They put on loads of foliage but no blooms, so I keep them in their own pots now, since I want my veggies in good soil. In Goshen, they were my favorites for spots where little else would grow. They have such a long season, too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Perfect! It’s almost as if she’s waving her petals at you as she announces her and autumn’s arrival. What a lovely stow away she is as she carries the life force from your previous garden to your current garden.

    Sky

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Yes, she’s got that waving energy and life force for sure! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Magnificent… This is the only year in a while I have not set Sunflowers, I totally forgot.. But this more than made up for it.. Plus a neighbour a few doors down has a Huge HUGE one that has multiple blooms that I admire out of my kitchen window each time I wash the pots.. So Nature did not forget me.. LOL
    Wishing you also an Amazing week Laura..
    Love and Hugs
    Sue xx ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Thank you, Sue! So nice to when Nature provides even when we forget to provide for ourselves! Wishing you an amazing week, too! Lots of love, Laura

    Liked by 1 person

  7. lovely….blushing beauty waving/winking….of course i love cosmos because they remind me of cosmo! and that “speaking truth from the heart” kieron mentioned was totally him! beauties abound in L’s garden abode!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Posted by Dawn Vierra on September 10, 2017 at 10:41 am

    That’s gorgeous!!! Fall is in the air. Happy face to wake to

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Posted by Dawn Vierra on September 10, 2017 at 10:42 am

    Reblogged this on Deer Heart Reiki Blog and commented:
    I’m so excited for fall to be around the corner. The colors on this sunflower make it the perfect welcome to fall Thanks Laura! Quite a beauty

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Reblogged this on dreamweaver333.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Oops! Missed this somehow. Yes, dear Cosmo! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

