Slowing Down the Druid Way: A History of Time

This is an excellent post from Dana about differences between “time” in the Middle Ages and “time” in the 21st century. I became aware of just how much leisure and feast time peasants had during the Middle Ages when David and I watched a documentary made by someone from Monty Python. For the life of me, I cannot recall which actor nor the title, but it explored in depth the peasants’ lives. They sounded surprisingly good compared to most people’s workaday week in the 21st century.

I’ve also been pondering this topic in my hopes to find people to enjoy/maintain the food forest at both houses once we move on from here. I’ve realized just how much freedom I have in terms of managing my own time and how rare that is in our society. It would likely require 4-5 people to do what I’ve done mostly on my own. A two home community would be ideal to step in and benefit from a working permaculture design. I’m also exploring how large a garden I want in our next location. These yards were right sized here, because I wanted the education/experience and didn’t want to do much else here. As we move forward, though, allocating more time to writing, traveling, socializing, and eating out, how much garden do I really want or need? I’m still exploring the balance, and we have “time” to do so, but periodic self-assessments of values and foci help make more satisfying and conscious changes.

My “Amish” five-pointed star blew off its trellis yesterday. To me this came as a sign that we will not be here much longer. When thinking about these properties without us here, I always see the star gone. Yesterday, the gusty wind whisked it away, just as I feel will happen when all aligns on both ends of our new adventure.

In any case, if you feel strapped for time, or you want to become more sustainable but don’t know how, this new set of articles by Dana will likely help flesh out your ideas and choices.

The Druid's Garden

Some awesome gardens on my homestead Some awesome gardens on my homestead

What continues to drive me is to live more in line with my principles: to grow my food, to take care of my basic needs, take charge of my health and healing, and to live fully and honestly with myself in line with the living earth. For a while, as I have discussed on this blog, I ran a homestead as well as worked full time to pay for it, something that I stopped doing about a year and a half ago. Part of why I had to walk away from my homestead in its current model (and regroup) was that it was physically exhausting me, especially as a single woman. I was trying to do everything: hold a full time job, grow my own food, tend my bees, tend my chickens, tend my land, make lots of things, write my blog…

View original post 2,571 more words

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sky on February 13, 2017 at 5:40 pm

    Wow! What surprising and interesting information. I actually had been doing some sustained thinking about “time” over as it exists in our modern first world culture and time versus as it existed in times past and still exists today in many remote places away from the more trodden path. Where people are far more happier and far more less stressed. They have far less “things” but far more satisfaction.

    “Time” and the economy, along with a strong focus on materialism rather than spirituality and nature, are structured and used by the PTB as a form of control. Only those who managedto break or “sneak” free of the more trodden path for the less trodden path are able to truly live “free” to be.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Posted by Mitch on February 13, 2017 at 8:50 pm

    Here’s the link to that fascinating and cheeky BBC documentary called Medieval Lives with Terry Jones https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YTWsUvT8nsw can’t wait to watch all 5 episodes.

    So interesting Amish 5 pointed star blew off, yep, time to go.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Posted by Kieron on February 14, 2017 at 7:38 am

    Intriguing original article. I’ve always been puzzled by how Christmas holidays could run for 12 whole days–unthinkable to moderns! Just this past Sunday, PBS had a documentary about time and how it was divided into fractions such as the nano-second (one billionth of a second), how atomic clocks came about (the regular pulsations of the cesium atom), and how America’s individual towns’ clock-times were stampeded into falling in line with the idea of the time zones we have today, by some official type who was charged with imposing uniform railroad schedules across the country. And the paradox of how the more we controlled time, the more time controlled us, and hence, our modern problem of not enough time to get it all done.

    Speaking of times zones always reminds me of how time seemed to run differently in Indiana that one day. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks, Sky, and yes, David and I often talk about that. For 24 years, he worked as an international flight attendant, and he found the “primitive” cultures so much happier and tuned in. We’ve seen the studies and believe them!

    Like

  5. Thanks so much, Mitch! You’re always such a good researcher. 🙂 Much appreciated. We have wanted to view that again and totally forgot what it was called.

    And yes, the star blowing off felt like, “Click, we’re going.”

    Like

  6. Interesting, Kieron! Thanks for the additional insights, and yes, time gets bendy around these here parts. LOL, no clocks will keep time at all in the blue house. Too much timeline shifting and too many faery portals? It’s quite amusing.

    Like

  7. Posted by Linette on February 14, 2017 at 10:32 am

    Enjoyed the article and your comments immensely. Saving the video for either later tonight or this weekend, when Jason and I can watch together.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

