The Place of Belonging

This speaks to me, as I’m sure it will to many wanderers and Earth lovers. Indeed, my current place is not “the” place … at least I sure hope not! I have loved and nourished this land from its near death to flourishing, but it has never been *my* place. Having lived in 43 places, I’ve not yet found the one true place, although I’ve lived in so many gorgeously exhalting places. I feel the next one tugging, tugging, but even that feels temporary. Perhaps for some of us, places continue to call so that we do link them together, the strong, alive places and those on the verge of death, crying out for so much healing.

In any case, I have no more answers to these questions than Dr. Sharon Blackie, but I understand what she shares here. A beautiful piece!

(Peace.)

The Art of Enchantment

A few years ago now, The Place of Belonging was the title of a book I was going to write. I never did; instead, I wrote If Women Rose Rooted, and some of what Iโ€™d intended to say about place and belonging went into that book, and some will go into The Enchanted Life, the book Iโ€™m working on now. Sometimes I think Iโ€™ll always be writing about it, because although the psychology of place and the myths and stories of place have been at the heart of my work for so long now, it seems that there is always something more to learn.

View original post 1,512 more words

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by seattle72 on December 3, 2016 at 2:10 pm

    I wonder about the notion of finding that ‘one’ place, the place we call ‘home’, at last, letting our deepest roots unfurl and take hold. Sounds a really lovely place to find. Part of me longs to find that place too.

    But… quite a few indiginous peoples were nomadic. They moved as the Earth moved, and changed as the Earth changed. Not buildng permanent structures, but instead using structures that could easily be packed up and moved to the next destination. Structures that did not permanently mar the land, nor pose a threat to them should the Earth feel the need to stretch and yawn.

    I wonder about this. Change is all we really have ‘to hang our hat on’. Being fluid and changeable in alignment with our Mother’s shifts in mood seems, at times, a more natural state in this Earth plane.

    When exactly did the notion of dropping anchor, staying in one place, the notion of home being external from our hearts, happen to humanity? And…who would benefit from re-scripting our early nomadic nature?

    I recall having a vision of the Ones who decided that land could be owned by an elite few. These ones enforced the idea that those who happened to be born within thier made up borders belonged to them, they would use them as slaves and servants and farmers, from which they could profit. Would these Ones benefit from cultivating the idea of a fixed place called home, painting this idea with all sorts of romantic overtones? I think a few continents underwent such changes from the people being free and nomadic to either being eradicated or converted into economic servitude to the elite few, seduced by the idea that they too could ‘own’ a piece of land someday, one day, that they could call ‘home’. As if the land could really be bought or sold and ‘owned’ by any human. What a silly idea!!!

    Anyway, just some thoughts. I don’t know what’s ‘right’, or if there is such a thing, but this idea of ‘home’ makes me wonder, a lot. ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Excellent musings, Seattle72! I have never owned property for that very reason, although this next move might involve that for practical reasons. We shall see. I do love Elen of the Ways … following the reindeer tracks, wild foraging. Some say that culture began to crumble when civilization began, not the other way around, as usually assumed and taught. Thank you for sharing your thoughts here. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Posted by Kieron on December 4, 2016 at 8:02 am

    “When exactly did the notion of dropping anchor, staying in one place, the notion of home being external from our hearts, happen to humanity? Andโ€ฆwho would benefit from re-scripting our early nomadic nature? ”

    I too love this question. “Cui bono” (who benefits?) is always a good question when there are complex issues at hand. I think some clues may come when I finally get my hands on a copy of “Caliban and The Witch” by Silvia Federici . http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/403846.Caliban_and_the_Witch?from_search=true

    Laura, thanks for redirecting our attention back to Dr Blackie. Have you read “If Women Rose Rooted” yet? That’s another one I’ve got to get my hands on. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Thanks for the book suggestion, Kieron! Yes, I have read If Women Rose Rooted. It is a lovely, deep book, and I intend to reread it at some point. It’s a mixture of autobiography, mythology and interviews–kind of a genre bender, but it definitely gets you thinking, especially if you are a woman or do not fit into patriarchal culture. I will check out Caliban and the Witch. ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Like

Leave a Reply

