Spiritual Perspective and Healing for Election Blues

I continue to receive multiple emails per day from people still struggling to comprehend the results of the recent US election. Since my own suggestions for everyone actually to take personal responsibility and to embody the slogans of each campaign got me erased from most internet search engines, I still stand by that — apparently very threatening to the PTB — advice, which you can find here. Nonetheless, people continue to struggle and/or outright freak out. For these readers (or for anyone dealing with despairing people), I recommend these articles:

The Election: Of Hate, Grief and a New Story, by Charles Eisenstein

I’ve sent this post to so many people, because it represents the closest to my own opinion of what’s happening and what’s needed. The whole election cycle is a symptom, not the disease. Neither side could “save” the world as we have known it, because that world has been crumbling for the past several decades. Trump’s campaign just vocalized what others have not wanted to see. I particularly appreciate the suggestions for working together to create a new story. Highly, highly recommended read!

Making Shamanic Sense of the Election, by Jaime Meyer

Jaime looks at this election in terms of initiation. Many people will immediately recognize his discussion of Trump as revealing the Shadow. I had not thought of Hillary Clinton as the Dark Feminine, though, but that is perfect for such a war-mongering woman. This piece puts the election into context of a shamanic initiation process and helps explain how the election itself is affecting society at large.

Tea for Troubled Times, by Nao at Honey Grove

This post comes from a Canadian pondering a world without Leonard Cohen and with Donald Trump as President. I love every single Honey Grove post, because they are just so richly layered and sumptuous with feeling and senses. Nao’s predawn reflections do not disappoint. You’ll feel like you just had a cuppa with fresh bread baking in the background.

 

16 responses to this post.

  1. Reblogged this on Reiki Dawn and commented:
    Sharing these 3 various posts combined into a sort of recipe for seeing it through. I loved all three. Thank you Laura Bruno for the compilation

    Liked by 1 person

  2. we both shared a post with “blues” in the titleπŸ˜‰ sync wink

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Posted by Sky on November 13, 2016 at 5:32 pm

    I thought I would share a message I shared with some friends on the day of the election, before the polls began closing and the results began flowing in:

    No matter the results of today’s election, we cannot and must not give up. However, it may be that the only true answer to today’s election results is for each of us to resolve to become powerful lights of that which is right and true. Goodness cannot be legislated or enforced. Goodness can only come from within and the choices which each of us choose to make. Perhaps it is time for each of us to stop looking to others to “make” us or others “do right”. Perhaps it is time for each of us to start doing “right” on our own. Drawing others to follow our own example. Perhaps it is time for each of us to be the change we wish to see in the world.

    How prophetic the above words turned out to be. I had no idea that day who would win.

    Sky

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Posted by seattle72 on November 13, 2016 at 6:31 pm

    Hi Laura,

    Thank you for the links.

    It’s a bitter pill to swallow. I was in shock for day or so. Then I kept asking myself, was the alternative (Hillary) really all that much better?? Trump makes me want to vomit, but, is more of the same establishment really a ‘better’ option? I still don’t have an answer.

    At work, a Trump supporter tried to console me by saying his comments about women were just ‘talk’, ‘he’s not great at being fake, that’s just how he is’ and what’s the difference between his assaults on women and Bill Clinton’s behavior? I just don’t know what to do with that! I said it’s a good thing that we are able to agree to disagree….

    I see a large segment of the country using this election as an effort to bring back that bill if goods we were sold decades ago about the American Dream aka ‘how to be a well behaved wage slave and self absorbed consumer’. Trump is the obvious choice under those conditions. The denial we are in is stunning.

    This resonates with my own denial of the fact that I can’t change the things that happened to me (abuse, etc), no matter what I do. I’m angry that the promise of a ‘normal’ life was taken from me. I’ve spent a lot of time and energy on this, time and energy that would be better spent accepting the cards I’ve been dealt and turning my gaze to the present and possibilities for the future.

    I think I kind of get what happened, now. I don’t like it, but as Brene Brown says ‘You can’t skip Day 2’. I plan to use this time to learn to accept the death of the false ideals and illusions I’ve obssessed over. It’s a time of loss and grief, but its also a time of acceptance, awakenings and new possibilities. But let’s first come to terms with a healthy dose of disillusionment, the grief that follows, then hopefully move into acceptance of not only the death of illusion, but also the realization of what we’ve done with our time and energy under that illusion. I think when this intenal rumble and reckoning are done in earnest, it should ignite hope, creativity and excitement. At least I hope that’s true, because being down here doing the dirty work pretty much sucks eggs.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Posted by CindyW on November 13, 2016 at 7:44 pm

    Thank you, Laura, for a balanced view. An astrologer I believe Ann K has cited before, Marina Macario, did an interesting article on Hillary related to Dark Feminine on her blog, Darkstar Astrology (http://darkstarastrology.com/hillary-clinton-us-election/3/).
    Appreciated Nao’s “Tea for Troubled Times” – the antidote for all the duality/confusion/
    outrage/triumphalism/whatever. And Charles Eisenstein – what he said.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Posted by Linette on November 14, 2016 at 2:02 am

    Intrigued by the idea of the Dark Feminine…will have to go back and read that one after just skimming over the link. But, the post from Nao at Honey Grove reiterates gorgeously what I have been saying and thinking. And lord knows, I subscribe to the belief that everything is better with a mug of tea in handπŸ™‚ Thank you for the links, lovely!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Very cool, Tania! LOL, just saw your post after I put this up.πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thank you, Sky!

    Like

  9. Thanks for sharing your process, Seattle 72. I think that’s helpful for many people, since change does, indeed, begin within. Hopefully your eggs will turn into Cadbury eggs or something tastier and healthier.❀

    Like

  10. Thank you, Cindy!

    Like

  11. You’re welcome, Linette. Thanks for your comment! I do know you love your tea. We’ll have to share some soon.πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. πŸ˜‰ hehe!!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Posted by jamivee on November 23, 2016 at 10:59 pm

    The election is certainly just a symptom of the disease…a late stage symptom. Like some cancers, you don’t really notice the symptoms until it’s almost too late. Something big is about to happen. I think it’s what all of us have been preparing for. All the healers, the empaths…all of the nurturing, therapy, meditation and work has been getting us ready. For what? Not sure yet….

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Yep! Ready or not, here it comes … hurry up and wait.πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

