Evolution Glass: Recycled Glass Reimagined

I’m super excited to announce this innovative and beautiful project that combines Earth healing with gorgeous form and function. I had the privilege of listening in on the early brainstorming stage of Evolution Glass many years ago, and I’m so pleased to see my brilliant engineer and artist friend Bill Hess taking his heartfelt and inspired vision to the next level.

I’ve known Bill and his wife, Wendy Vigdor-Hess, since my time in Seattle back in 2001-2002 and have maintained contact with them throughout our various moves ever since. I’ve witnessed them grow — their marriage, businesses, a book, community, a family — and I’m just so happy to get the word out about this next phase.

Way back when Bill first started talking about his idea to reclaim recycled glass and turn it into functional art, furniture and countertops, I recognized the amazing potential, not just for decorations, but also for changing attitudes and taking recycling up several notches. I know Bill has spent years testing for strength, refining techniques, doing private commissions and experiments, and looking for just the right combinations to bring his vision to life. He’s now teamed up with Heather Philips, a passionate recycler and earth advocate, as well as Howard Evergreen, the former Director of the Fluvanna-Louisa Housing Foundation.

They’ve got an indiegogo campaign up now to fund their intention to save 12 tons of glass from the landfill each year! In addition to giving details about the campaign, the link below includes gifts, a sobering and educational video, as well as photos of some of Bill’s earlier creations. You won’t believe what “waste” can become in the loving hands of a creative visionary and Earth healer. Thank you, Bill, for continuing to follow your dream!

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/evolution-glass-recycled-glass-reimagined#/

10 responses to this post.

  1. oh!! big yay’s for bill! this is fantastic. thanks for posting, will reshare and help❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Tania Marie's Blog and commented:
    I share Laura’s excitement for this project that not only is forward thinking in taking care of our beautiful Mother Earth, but innovatively merges waste glass into art that beautifies and functions daily in our lives while reminding us of our stewardship to this collective home we share.

    I was introduced to Bill by Laura back around 2006 when I was in the midst of almost purchasing land to build an innovative healing center. Laura felt Bill’s work would be lovely in my vision of this creation and she was right. I did not decide to move forward with that project, and good thing, as things shifted quickly in my life which would not have supported it, but Bill and I also remained in loose contact now and then over the years and then connected on Facebook later.

    Although I did not end up working with Bill back then, with a new vision I foresee in my future, and other plans in action, there may yet still be a fusing of his work brought forth into my own dreams.

    I love seeing visionaries manifesting their imagination into being.

    Laura shares more about Bill and his wife in this post, having known them more intimately for quite some time, and includes the link to his indiegogo campaign. The link does have this video in it, but I am including the link separate too so you don’t miss it:

    And here’s also a direct link to his website:

    http://www.evolutionglassglobal.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What an inspiration and so much goodness involved. Thanks for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Posted by Cheryl on October 16, 2016 at 11:48 pm

    Very cool! Just made a donation & shared it on Facebook.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for sharing this and adding your connection with Bill, too.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you, Cheryl!

    Like

  7. Thanks and you’re welcome, lotusbless!

    Like

  8. Yay!❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. you’re welcome!❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

