A Spring Ritual: Trash-to-Treasure Fairy

This is such a timely post from Dana, particularly after my PA Round 2 trip of emptying my parents’ old house of 30 years and preparing it for sale. On my first stay, I lost count of how many carloads of belongings we took to Goodwill, and Mom took even more after Inleft. So much that she received a personal, gleeful thank you from Goodwill for all the high quality donations.

Much of the emptying process occurred before I arrived on May 11, but even that came about via careful consideration and search for help. A professional organizer gave my mom a list of people who haul away usable items for donation, places that ethically recycle electronics, and where to call for other recycling and reuse options. My mom has been recycling for most of my life, and she feels very proud that so little of that house full of stuff went anywhere near a landfill. I did a Reiki Healing Attunement for all the stuff to find its new humans, and later that day, Mom called in wonder about how things were flying out the door. Just the right people showed up wanting what she had — no garage sale necessary. A hazardous waste collection day coincided with the morning I flew home, and that felt like a symbolic send off. That house could easily have filled dumpsters, but instead filled hearts. When we live in flow, honor the Earth, things find their rightful new homes. Habitat for Humanity’s ReStore got a 2015 grant to recycle latex paint into new paint for homes; a local doctor makes quarterly trips to Haiti to deliver medical supplies and caregiver packages, crutches, walkers and canes for those who desperately need such things; the list goes on.

My point is that an overwhelming task ended up bringing my mom great joy by helping so many others without destroying the planet. We can each do our part, and an entire economic stream can flow from “waste” — a stream that meanders in harmony with the power of giving back in positive ways instead of thoughtless expectations of other people — or other generations — to clean up our mess.

The Druid's Garden

A typical "trash" pile full of perfectly good stuff A typical “trash” pile full of perfectly good stuff from the move out day ritual.  Working fans, mattresses, bags of unused clothing, shoes, organization units, dishes, etc.

At the end of the semester in my quaint college town, a spring ritual of sorts takes place. (I know, I know. Spring rituals in college towns are rarely a good thing!) It is a holiday dedicated to the gods of consumption and waste, called “Move out day.” This day takes place the same day as graduation, and after graduation ceremonies, students and their families eagerly pack their cars and whisk themselves off to unknown destinations. Unfortunately, not everything that they brought, or bought here, goes with them. In fact, the primary activity of the move out day ritual is making one’s sizable offering of new and lightly used goods on the sidewalk or in a series of dumpsters and then to drive…

View original post 1,227 more words

One response to this post.

  1. Couldn’t help noticing the ubiquitous Lasko 20″ box fan sitting in that pile. Lasko fans never wear out. Someone must rescue it. I have 5 of them used for all sorts of tasks from evacuating fumes from my orgonite making shop to cooling certain seasonally hot areas of my home. I have trouble sleeping as well without one humming in my face – a situation my wife has finally after 36 years of marriage grown accustomed too.

    I have informed my children that over my grave should be placed an eternally running Lasko fan instead of an eternal gas flame.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

