Status Update on my Dad and Sessions

Hi, and thanks to everyone for your continued prayers, love and energy healing. My family and I do appreciate them and can feel them working in our lives. So many little synchronicities and loving encounters continue to fill our lives. Thank you.

I’m writing primarily so that I have a quick link I can send in response to so many emails, especially emails inquiring about scheduling sessions right now. Since people don’t seem to be reading all the way to the bottom of updates, I’m posting the session announcement first, with my dad’s status update below. For some reason, I’ve been receiving an unusually high influx of new session requests from people who’ve been reading my blog or have known about me for years but decided this is the time they want to jump in for our work together. I encourage jumping in, but my pool is shifting right now, so anyone wanting time with me needs to have patience.

As I’ve mentioned, I need extreme flexibility in scheduling for the foreseeable future, but especially for the next few weeks. I’m not shutting down my business, but the kind of work I do requires total presence, focus, expansive consciousness, a private room, and deep emotional reserves, as many of those I help are going through major transitions in their lives. Right now, my family and I are going through that sort of transition. I’m prioritizing sessions that need to be rescheduled, but at this point I cannot offer anything new before the week of March 21st, and even that might get pushed back pending new developments.

Yesterday morning, my dad received news that his cancer has now filled his bone marrow. Normally, this would mean he has only weeks, if that, to live, but I can actually see all the life force energy pouring into the crown of his head. It’s a tremendous flow, and it seems to be keeping the cancer contained at this time. Although my dad’s platelet counts remain dangerously low, his other blood work indicates no spread of the cancer. That could change at any moment, but for now, his unusual state keeps baffling everyone at the hospital. He knows he’s receiving so much prayer and healing, though, that he credits this (and his attitude) with keeping him alive long enough to accomplish as many of his remaining to-do’s as possible.

My dad, his doctor, and our family have decided to transition my dad to “palliative” care, and my dad strongly prefers to return home. Given the extent of his non-cancer symptoms, this would require round the clock care, so today we are interviewing not only  hospice providers who can work in the home, but also visiting nurse organizations, since he needs 24 hour care in order to make this time as pain free and lucid as possible. Ironically, the non-cancer quality of life issues make it likely that my dad will be able to continue receiving treatments that can prolong his life in a positive way, since he needs platelet infusions in order to tolerate other “quality of life” options not normally considered part of hospice.

My brother spoke with my dad’s oncologist, who says my dad is one of his all time favorite patients, and this doctor wants to go above and beyond to ensure my dad can extend his time since my dad continues to touch so many people’s lives. We have received so much feedback from people all around town about my dad’s speech about the power of prayer in his life. At first, my dad felt disappointed he didn’t have strength to read it himself, but the power of having my sister read it at five church services has created a flood of impact on so many people. Wherever we go, people seem to have heard the speech and mention how deeply and powerfully it affected them. My dad’s doctor (and we) would like to make as many of my dad’s dying wishes come true, particularly since most of them are very service oriented. He seems to have developed a powerful intuitive ability to know just who needs to hear what right now, and this brings him tremendous joy.

He’s completely at peace with his situation, but he would love to spend some time in my parents’ new house. This means we are pushing up the original move date, and I will remain in PA to help coordinate a sooner rather than later move. As “official decorator” of their new home, I will also stay long enough to get them settled. My brother and I got to tour the 55+ community my 70+ year old parents are moving to, and we’re both so relieved my mom will have such friendly, warm and involved people around her. The new house has huge windows and a gas fireplace — both things my mom loves and finds deeply nurturing. The fingerprints of the Divine cover this entire process, and more so than sadness (although that’s there, too), I feel overwhelmed with tears of gratitude. It’s seriously enough to burst my heart multiple times per day.

We have all three of my dad’s brothers and their wives arriving tonight/this weekend, David arriving Saturday or Sunday (pending weather), and many, many, many meetings this week in order to arrange both my dad’s transition into the old home with proper care, as well as all the logistics about purchasing this new house. Signing occurs on the 9th, and then I will need to arrange movers to pack and unpack belongings, plus, assuming my dad’s still with us, how to get him from one place to the other. As the child with the most flexibility of schedule, responsibility for most of this next phase falls to me.

My brother and sister have both been amazing in their own efforts, but we need to protect them from burnout. I know all about burnout from watching what David has gone through caring for his own parents, and I will not put my siblings through that. We are each taking turns, selecting our own special skill sets to determine who does what. With me having moved … ohhhh, 42 times … I’m the mover/decorator. With me having helped so many people transition to the Otherside, I’m also the walker between worlds and the appropriate one to shoulder much of this time for people. My sister’s local, and my brother will return again as his job permits. He’s already almost out of vacation days!

In terms of timing, my dad has anywhere between weeks to up to six months. I have him reading Dr. Bruce Lipton’s “The Biology of Belief,” which he finds very interesting. My dad has an extremely powerful mind and is very, very receptive to miracles. He reminds everyone how open he is to “Miracle Number 13,” but he also knows he has led a full life and feels the full extent of our love for him.

I’m off to the first of three meetings and many phone calls today. Those of you awaiting reschedules, thanks for your patience. I should have a much better idea next week. We just need to get these logistics in place for my dad to be able to come home.

Much love and gratitude,

Laura

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sophia Sutton on March 3, 2016 at 1:13 pm

    Hello dear Laura, Wow! A move, on top of all this? All I can say is Wow! Sounds like you have an amazing family. “I’ll have a full plate with gratitude, please!” is what comes to mind. Love and blessings to you all, Sophia

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Much love Laura. Reiki and prayers continued for all

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Posted by Nikkoale on March 3, 2016 at 2:14 pm

    ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Posted by Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature on March 3, 2016 at 3:33 pm

    Beautiful Laura. “The fingerprints of the Divine cover this entire process, and more so than sadness (although that’s there, too), I feel overwhelmed with tears of gratitude. It’s seriously enough to burst my heart multiple times per day.” Isn’t that an amazing feeling?! Your heart is so big, I’m sure you feel very full right now in it.

    The Biology of Belief is so great. It’s neat he is enjoying that.

    Take good care of you Laura, and I’m glad you can see and feel everyone’s love and prayers.

    Peace
    Mary

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sending you all love from Scotland. Having recently nursed my mother through a period of ill health, you have my complete empathy. Taking care of the carers is so important so take good, good care of yourself and each through these time xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Posted by Barbara on March 4, 2016 at 6:47 pm

    Love to you and your family, Laura. When I read your updates, my heart opens so wide, it’s palpable, actually changes it’s rhythm! I send the highest of frequencies across the Grid. There is no doubt that your wonderful Dad is a Wayshower. Love, B.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Posted by sky on March 7, 2016 at 3:48 am

    I was just wondering how your dad was doing, so I was glad to see your update. Thank you for sharing it. I will pray for your dad to have six months more to finish his to do list and to also create many happy memories in the new house with your mom, you, and your other siblings. You are very blessed to be able to spend this time with your dad and to lend your help and skills to his care and the upcoming move.

    UR, AR, and OTHILA! For strength & health, reframing, and family legacy.
    ❤ ❤ ❤ and a big HUG!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Posted by laura on March 7, 2016 at 10:04 pm

    Sending love,prayers and energy to you and your family! Please continue to keep us posted! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I am sending support to you, your dad and your family. Much love, Lisa

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Thank you to everyone! So sorry I don’t have time to thank everyone individually, but know that I read and appreciate every comment and all the love and energy headed our way. ❤

    Like

  11. Hi Laura, sending love, healing and prayers for you and your family ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  12. […] post will be the last in this series sharing my dad’s final weeks. As promised, on the day of my dad’s memorial service, […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

