A Walk in the Woods

Someone, somewhere insisted I take today off and walk in the woods. Although I had sessions scheduled, every single one rescheduled itself, and the cold, rainy weather cleared. After stopping early at some friends’ garage sale, I found myself not wanting to go indoors, and so I heeded the call of the woods where I found so many purple flowers and pink leaves that if I hadn’t also seen the oranges, reds and yellows, I might have thought for a moment it was spring.

The crisp fall air with its hint of mist got me totally in the mood for tomorrow’s Samhain celebration. In fact, the rare fall sunshine peeking out at noon insisted I whip up a gluten-free vegan Devil’s Food Cake in the Sun Oven to go with the homegrown sweet potato chili, grill-roasted root veggies, and mulled cider. Since I can’t share the yummies with you, I thought I’d share some photos:

delicate purple flowers in autumn

delicate purple flowers in autumn

This “T” reminds me of the Book of Kells

no mistaking autumn here

no mistaking autumn here

more pink!

more pink!

The Oak King's getting ready to stake his claim at Yule.

The Oak King’s getting ready to stake his claim at Yule.

Is this the road not taken, or the path of secrets?

Is this the road not taken, or the path of secrets?

winter forage for woodland creatures

winter forage for woodland creatures

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nikkoale on October 30, 2015 at 5:38 pm

    ❀

    Like

  2. ❀ We were synced up today, eh?

    Like

  3. Posted by Nikkoale on October 30, 2015 at 5:44 pm

    Indeed we are!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Posted by Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature on October 30, 2015 at 6:17 pm

    Beautiful, Laura. I’m glad you had a nice walk. Thanks for sharing it with us.
    Mary

    Like

  5. Posted by ZLu Alex on October 30, 2015 at 8:17 pm

    Laura! ME TOO! πŸ™‚ Here outside Omaha NE, the purple violets have been blooming for me like crazy– even after several frosts?!! πŸ™‚ Looking up the meaning, it is the RESURRECTION symbolism that speaks most clearly to me. I have eaten a handle of purple blooms for many many days, saying thank you thank you thank you to each one. πŸ™‚

    What a magnificent magickal moment to be alive in body on Gaia.

    Hugs

    Like

  6. Thanks and you’re welcome, Mary!

    Like

  7. ZLu Alex, what an awesome comment! Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚ Hugs, Laura

    Like

Leave a Reply

