This Guy Knows Everything about Gardening and Food Preservation

Whoa! I found this blog  while trying to figure out what to do with the massive volume of collards I only harvested to stop them from shading out other plants. This wasn’t an intentional harvest, just a quick tidy up, and I had more than enough for smoothies, a huge massaged collard salad, and a gallon more of chopped greens. I wanted to know if I could just freeze them without blanching, and according to Kevin, who truly appears to know anything and everything I’ve ever wondered about gardening, indoors or out, says yes, some people do just freeze their greens. If you blanch them, they’ll last 8-12 months in the freezer, but I’ll just use up this gallon sooner. Today was not a day for big pots, boiling water, timers, and ice cubes. Today was a day of planting spring bulbs and harvesting tomatoes!

After dinner, I decided to poke around a bit more on “A Garden for the House ~ Home & Garden Inspiration from Kevin Lee Jacobs.” Move over Martha Stewart! This guy knows how to get Mr. Meyer Lemon Tree back to fruitful. He knows what to do with my hydroponic lettuce containers, and he knows how to propagate so many African violets that surely a few will survive. Actually, he recommends propagating African violets in the hydroponic lettuce containers, so that’s two answers in one. He knows how to make frozen herbal “cigars” for quick seasoning … and how to … well, it seems Kevin knows how to do just about everything from planting, to rooting, to harvesting, to blooming, to winter sowing, to forcing bulbs, to really easy food preserving.

I don’t normally wax so enthusiastically over blogs. OK, sometimes I do, but those blogs are usually run by homeschooling housewives with five kids and result in conversations with David that go something like: “Seriously, how do these people do it?! I mean, how do they have time with children? Do they put the kids to work? Ohhh, you know, they must! Because otherwise, how do they have time to knit, can, plant, make all these amazing little crafts and clothes, tincture their own herbs, keep bees, write seven ebooks, run a monetized blog, Instagram, FaceBook and etsy accounts, and run a full on homestead? I mean, c’mon. They. Make. Their. Own. Rugs.” I wind up impressed but mostly flummoxed that these people must know secrets about bending time that even I don’t know. Either that, or they put the kids to work… In any case, they remind me that no, I’m not really a homesteader. I just play one in our yard….

Anyway, I digress. Kevin Lee Jacobs has got the goods. Practical, prolific, and easy information for anyone who wants flowers in January, farm fresh taste all year, no nonsense recipes, frugal decorating tips, plus super detailed articles and extensive, attentive comments on what to do when, and how. I just had to pass along the link, because Kevin Lee Jacobs rocks so much he makes you feel like you can, too.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kieron on October 8, 2015 at 12:31 pm

    ” I wind up impressed but mostly flummoxed that these people must know secrets about bending time that even I don’t know.”

    Now you know how your readership feels. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Posted by manyhahama1955 on October 8, 2015 at 1:58 pm

    Ha! Great blog post, Laura! “Seriously, how do these people do it?”…i wonder the same and think the same about you. : ) I have entirely way too much inertia to step through (Saturn conjunct Sun in Scorpio) haha! love to you…and have an abundant autumn harvest.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Posted by manyhahama1955 on October 8, 2015 at 2:00 pm

    Oh, yes, and Mars conjunct Neptune on my asc. in Libra. I don’t move too quickly. ha!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LOL, Kieron!

    Like

  5. Love to you, too, Sophia! LOL, I’m hearing a lot about that dynamic …. I guess it’s all relative. 🙂

    Like

  6. Posted by manyhahama1955 on October 8, 2015 at 3:05 pm

    Yes, that is all we have here in the dreamscape…relativity! The lesson for each one of us (if there is one) is to learn to enjoy the journey as it IS for each one of us. Consciousness experiencing itself through us as the vehicles. : )

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Posted by lindamartha on October 8, 2015 at 5:17 pm

    I’ll check it out because I want flowers in January-even in Wisconsin:)

    Like

  8. Check out his petunia cutting posts. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Posted by lindamartha on October 9, 2015 at 1:52 pm

    I have enjoyed what I have seen so far. Thanks so much for sharing this! I will be spending a lot of time there this winter:) And I’m glad I found your blog as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Me, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

