Day 163: Ragweed vs. Goldenrod

The faeries told me if I planted goldenrod, I’d have no more ragweed allergies. They said the same thing about planting lilies and lilacs in the spring (formerly my top allergens). I planted the lilies and lilacs and didn’t have sneezy spring allergies this year. I’m still debating on the goldenrod since an infusion of it caused me no end of sneezing in 2014. It sure is pretty! In addition to bees, butterflies and wandering herbalists, I hear tell the Fae like it, but they would now, wouldn’t they?

Mountain Man Traditional Healing

It’s that time of the year again when folks start confusing ragweed and goldenrod plants. It always upsets me because goldenrod is my favorite late summer, early fall bloomer and has a lot of medicinal value. First off, so more folks don’t get confused, here is goldenrod:

Goldenrod_1r

Beautiful isn’t it? It’s bright yellow flowers are probably the most noticeable feature of the plant. Here’s another photo:

685px-Yellow_goldenrod_wildflower

Goldenrod comes in many shapes and sizes depending upon the species, but all of them have great medicinal value.

Solidago_gigantea01

Goldenrod is one of the best topical anti inflammatories out there as well as helping treat other skin issues such as rashes, bug bites, psoriasis, eczema, bruises, wounds, etc. It can also be taken internally in several different preparations to help with urinary tract issues, colds, congestion, and diabetes. It’s also a favorite for many different important pollinators, and guess what? The pollen of the…

View original post 131 more words

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by karenjamison5 on September 29, 2015 at 8:15 pm

    Do it! If you don’t like it, I’ll come get it and bring it home to my yard. And maybe, just maybe, a faery will hitch a ride and end up in Ohio. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gosh – they don’t look anything alike! I love goldenrod and am pleased to hear about its medicinal value. I’ve got plenty in my wild garden, still blooming.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Posted by Eliza Ayres on September 29, 2015 at 11:09 pm

    I have perennial goldenrod in the garden. Very pretty next to the violet catmint. Saw it first growing in the Cascades and fell in love with this pretty late blooming plant.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, I bet that’s lovely, Eliza!

    Like

  5. I may need to transplant some from somewhere around here, or else gather seeds later in the fall if I remember.

    Like

  6. LOL! Maybe so, Karen! 🙂

    Like

  7. Posted by Jane Derbenwick on September 30, 2015 at 3:19 pm

    And what a super abundance of goldenrod this fall!  Sincerely,   Jane Derbenwick

    Like

  8. Ragweed and Golden Rog happen to grow side by side. Where one grows you will find the other, but the Golden Rod gets a bad rep from it’s sister plant.

    Like

  9. Yes, definitely!

    Like

Leave a Reply

