Healing Hands: Replanting and Regenerating the Land as a Spiritual and Sacred Practice

One of the best posts I’ve ever read, and I agree, 110%! Blessed Be *and* be the blessing — so important:

“realizing that all of the land is ours to tend, if not legally so, than certainly, ethically so.”

The Druid's Garden

Acorns Acorns

A lone man walks through a field of brambles as the sun rises, a small pouch at his side.  This field was old-growth forest before being clear cut a century or more ago; it was then farmland for 50 years before becoming unfarmable wasteland; over the last 15 years, enough soil fertility has returned enough to support the brambles. As the man walks, every so often, he leans down, takes out a small trowel, and pops a nut in the ground–hickory and oak nuts, primarily, but others like butternut, chestnut, and walnut are also sometimes planted. He is a man on a very quiet and very personal mission–and his goal is simple: to return hardwoods to the cleared lands of Western Pennsylvania. Sometimes, he carries roots instead: the roots of goldenseal and ginseng, plants once common here and are now about impossible to find. This man plants trees that…

View original post 2,651 more words

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kieron on August 14, 2015 at 3:15 pm

    This is something I think about often. The image of the man planting acorns reminds me of me. As you know, I do a fair amount of orgonite gifting because i travel so much for work. often to areas that are quite grim, and there are opportunities to leave behind something pretty where it seems appropriate, or something functional and nondescript, wherever it might go unnoticed and do its work quietly. But I have a streak of skepticism in me (my internal “committee”) that sneers at any ideas that this is real, useful or even effective. And I get a little nervous at times about what I do, wondering if someone will call the cops on me for suspicious behavior, etc. I try to mitigate this by asking to be made invisible to hostile eyes or anyone who would stop me. I’ve contemplated getting a dog, which would give me exercise and the excuse of wandering around the city, and no one looks too closely at someone who seems to be picking up after a dog. 🙂

    And in your Lyme disease post, you say, “In general, I have found that aiming for an ‘extraordinary’ and ‘magical’ life generates far faster healing than aiming for ‘normal’ or a return to ‘how things were.’ I hope that the things I do are enough to lift me into this extraordinary and magical state, but it’s a constant battle against doubt and skepticism. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Posted by Barbara on August 15, 2015 at 1:53 am

    Dear Laura, I haven’t read this article fully — that’s a lot of words! — but I will say this. I have seen fruit trees (and other trees particularly of the deciduous kind) attacked by humans by over-pruning for apparently decorative purposes, and not long after, these very same trees are “infested” with webs of caterpillars. Then those webs are attacked by those same humans with chemicals and burning torches. The webs reappear higher up and what is amazing is the branches of those trees higher up rejuvenate. And that’s all I need to know. If I’ve ever doubted Gaia, I do not now after seeing the rejuvenation that occurs by the love of those caterpillars. Love, B.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks, B. It is a good article if you have time. 🙂

    Like

  4. Posted by Barbara on August 15, 2015 at 6:16 pm

    Sorry, Laura, I should have read the complete article yesterday prior to posting my comment. I’ve read it now and I totally agree with the idea of humanity being Earth Keepers and I’ve been meditating for years with the sole purpose of healing the damage done by us to Gaia and Her Kingdoms, along with picking up garbage in the streets, rescuing kittens, having my own garden and sharing the abundance, et cetera.

    Anyway, what triggered my comment yesterday is that the neighbour’s backyard has been for a very long time and still is an old orchard. In that small backyard there are apple, pear, cherry and plum trees, and as long as I’ve lived here those trees were lovingly cared for and the fruit shared, not to mention that one of the apple trees provided much needed summer shade to our backyard. Three years ago new people moved in and they have raped and plundered that backyard to the point where the trees no longer produce fruit nor provide shade. They go out with rusty saws and blunt axes and chop and hack and…. and it has almost broken my heart.

    When I saw the first caterpillar nest in the pear tree, I was worried that the caterpillars would finally do the trees in. The neighbour simply came out as usual and hacked off the branch and sprayed the nest. Next came a caterpillar nest in the cherry tree, which I don’t think neighbour has seen yet as it is quite invisible from their side. So I sent those caterpillars love!

    I have no idea what will happen, and it hurts just to write this. I do not and never have understood people who destroy Mother Nature’s incredible gifts.

    Thanks for listening, and once again apologies for commenting prior to reading what is an essential attitude in such heavy-going times. Love, B.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Posted by Barbara on August 15, 2015 at 11:43 pm

    Hi Laura,

    Me again, you need not post this comment, but for some reason I feel that it’s important that you know, nobody else needs to know, what I have worked on for so long and anyway, in no particular order, all of which was at my own expense and with full heart involved:

    I designed and sent all over the world a lapel pin of Planet Earth with the words “Choose Love” across it, to the United Nations, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, National Geographic, etc., dozens of organizations to as many countries as I could with little or no response.

    I’m not a lawyer (attorney in the US), but I’ve taken to the highest court here in my province and won two cases against an unscrupulous land developer on behalf of myself and my family and many others in that community;

    I’ve run for the (federal) Green Party of Canada and come in third in a six-person race, all of which garnered a lot of money for the Green Party in my riding, but in the running I wrote hundreds of letters and essays to thousands of people on behalf of Planet Earth;

    I’ve moved a garbage site from one horrendous location in a rural community to a safer location where bears do not visit, with their cubs, that all consequently get shot;

    I’ve published a book for a young man who is a drug addict, a brilliant writer, and knows his addiction is controlling him and sent that book off to as many social workers, school boards and drug addiction counsellors as I could — no response. One social worker told me that all reformed drug addicts want to be hero’s and returned my book;

    I tried to go to Honolulu to attend the Navy Yards there to try to stop the sonar testing in the ocean that was affecting and driving crazy the dolphins and the whales, only to be turned back by the TSA who, of course, had been surveilling my e-mails to people who wanted to help;

    I’ve helped have a Canadian man released from the torture camp at Guantamano Bay;

    I’ve given ideas to lawyers in British Columbia on how to help the First Nations People here, which ideas they’ve told me that I’m crazy and they are much more learned than me so don’t worry about it, silly woman, only to find out later that my ideas have been used;

    I’ve acted as middle man in negotiations over debt to the satisfaction of both sides; I’ve helped young woman leave abusive relationships;

    There is more, and none of the above for which I took any schooling, but I won’t go on as it makes me uncomfortable that I am tooting my own horn. I do not for the life of me understand why people do not wake up. My heart hurts to even think about the number of things that I, and so very many others, have tried to get across and yet what we get in return is our fruit stolen from our trees, as you did, and neighbours who destroy what Mother Nature gifts they are so fortunate to have.

    Rest assured, I will never give up, I love animals and plants too much to abandon Gaia now, but I confess I am at the point where I can find very little good to say about humans.

    Love to you my friend, I had no idea how much I was hurting and again no need to publish this comment or the earlier one. I just needed to say…. B.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you for sharing all you did, Barbara, and thank you for all your heartfelt care of our planet and Her people and creatures! We need more like you. 🙂 Blessings, love, peace and hopefully some joy on the continued journey … Laura

    Like

  7. Kieron, I am sure you are making a difference with all you do on all the different levels. A dog would be perfect for orgone gifting! Maybe you could borrow someone’s if you don’t want to get your own orgone familiar. I love the idea of having an orgone familiar, though. 🙂 No one believes it, but I am a huge skeptic. I just experiment relentlessly and so when I’m sure of something, I’m really sure. As David says, “We need the eggs, dear.”

    (Reference to the joke, “My brother thinks he’s a chicken.”
    “What?! That’s terrible. Why don’t you get him some help?”
    “We need the eggs.”

    Which, somehow, reminds me of this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AexVBs09bjA

    Mary Poppins holds the key to freedom, and I’m only partly joking. What would happen if all the banksters did this? “A man with a wooden leg named Smith.” “What was the name of his other leg?”

    Like

Leave a Reply

