Seen Today in the Garden

The fairy tale pumpkins are just starting to grow, so imagine my surprise when my eyes fell upon this huge green striped cushaw squash!

green striped cushaw

I thought I’d show some different perspectives today, since I usually shoot from the front of the yard, facing back. Here’s the view through the back gate, in an archway of poke:

through the back gate

The back alley is also starting to fill in, although next year, the forsythias will be more than little twigs. Wildflowers, day lilies, and Maximiliam sunflowers bring welcome touches of color to an otherwise weedy spot. I’ve got cold hardy gladiolus and hollyhocks on the perpendicular side of the garage, facing the apartment’s parking lot.

back alley

I almost never take photos of the ugly view across the street, but these sunflowers have so kindly faced their most beautiful blooms at the best angle to distract from the ugliest view, while I await the growth of my serviceberry and rose hedges up front to shield this yuck. Vertical gardening projects abound in this yard, buffering views on three of four sides, but the front has resulted in a riot of color. The yarden has grown so lush that it actually feels like a complete non-sequitur to look from one side of the street to the other:

sunnies

Along with sunnies, we have plenty of bunnies, pictured here with black raspberries, patty pan squash, tomatoes, calendula and borage:

bunnies

The area behind our garage (the back garage by the alley actually belongs to our landlord) has turned into quite the companion planting party, with even an animal transplanted watermelon groundcover twining around a currant bush:

backyard

The backyard beds still look lush from behind. Sometime, we’ll have a gazillion parsnips since I let this one go to seed. I can’t bring myself to cut it down, since it looks like a tree and has cucumbers and pumpkin twined all around it.

back beds

The cardoon looks just as impressive as my friend Patricia promised me it would — very popular with the bees, too!

cardoon

These beds have overflowed, and you can’t even see the sweet potato vines starting to climb the trellis behind the deadheaded elecampane:

side backyard

Our Guarden Bed’s cold frame support needs repair before the other two hinge points break. I’ve got the parts, just haven’t had the time yet with David to implement the switch. Meanwhile, garlic chives have flowered, and a slow start “zinnia” turned into a sunflower, joining masses of cucumbers and fairy tale pumpkins.

Guarden bed and garlic chives

That’s all the photos for now. I was outside observing the yard next door while Gardener’s Supply has their Summer Clearance sale happening, just in case I need, you know, more garden stuff. šŸ˜‰ Yesterday, I picked up an inspiring copy of “Foodscaping,” by Charlie Nardozzi, and I can’t wait to get that yard going!

17 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sherry on August 10, 2015 at 1:45 pm

    You are a natural….plants love you šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for these beautiful pics of Permaculture Paradise!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks, Sherry! Apparently, bunnies do, too. LOL, these ones are so tame, they barely even move when I come outside anymore, even if they’re munching cantaloupe vines right in front of me. Oh, well, I’d need to prune them anyway. šŸ™‚

    Like

  4. You’re welcome and thank you, Diana!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. looking lush and lovely. of course the bunnies are in wonderland..we each have to have some bunnies ya know šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Posted by Nikkoale on August 10, 2015 at 3:05 pm

    I love watching your garden grow!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Posted by C Wells on August 10, 2015 at 3:35 pm

    Laura – What is the industrial looking building across the street? You must be an uber inspiration to all the neighbours around you, they all have something beautiful to admire now.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Reblogged this on Twin Flames and commented:
    Love these Back to Eden (BTE) permaculture garden pics! Laura’s done such a wonderful job with her home! ā¤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thanks, T. LOL, we’ve got something like six generations of bunnies here now. The gardens next door are being somewhat planned around them — i.e. high off the ground! They’ve discovered my carrots, cantaloupe and other goodies, whereas before they were just eating clover. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Thanks, Nikkoale!

    Like

  11. Hi C ~ That industrial looking building is, in fact, an industrial building. It’s a factory that makes hand carts. It’s an eyesore. My original project before I switched to getting garden grants for local gardens was to get a mural painted on it — of a huge lake and trees. No go.

    Our street is getting a major renovation in 2016, and there will be a bike path with some kind of large wall blocking out the factory. The wall will either have murals or be a living wall of vines or something. Meanwhile, I’m growing my own hedges so that I don’t need to see it. When I said I was called to this land to regenerate it, I wasn’t kidding. It was beyond horrible when we got here, but it’s definitely shifting big time. It takes loads of works, and yes, I have noticed that more neighbors are putting flowers out front now. Once I get the second yard done, I will look into helping people get some edibles mixed in with their flowers, but first things first. It helps to have a big demo. That way, I can also approach the city and be most insistent on what goes in front of us. šŸ™‚

    Like

  12. Thanks, Nathan & Aline!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. yay bunnies!!! sounds like they’re putting you to the challenge indeed šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Posted by C Wells on August 11, 2015 at 8:51 pm

    Laura – Don’t you think that’s odd that your street is getting reno’d? I wonder if it’s connected to your most beautiful efforts in your yard? I got “the shivers” when I read your comment about your neighbours planting flowers. There is something about that building I think that is going to lead to something awesome down the road. Someone(s) in there maybe who is going to shift in a good way. I think it says a lot about who you are that you have made your yard so beautiful and it’s a rental!!! So many times peoples in rentals will do the minimum because it’s “not theirs” even though they are living there in current time. Just love that you’ve made something neglected so special. If we all did this what a garden of Eden the world would be. In the meanwhile one garden at a time towards our place in the sun……

    Like

  15. Well, I do have some pull with the faeries, LOL! Certain projects here were on a wish list for people in the City, and all the funding just happened to come through right after we moved here. Things are movin’ along. I’ve also done healing attunements on all adjacent properties, as well as some further away on the street, but in view. This road’s getting multiple upgrades in multi-dimensions! Yes, wouldn’t it be lovely if everyone did a little bit towards regenerating the Garden of Eden?! Gorgeous and abundant. šŸ™‚

    Like

  16. Posted by C Wells on August 12, 2015 at 4:48 pm

    Laura would it be possible for you to do a post on how you did the healing attunements in your neighbourhood? Some ways that a lay person could do the same, maybe it’s too complex but I would love to do some in my own neighbourhood. I have some disturbed/disturbing neighbours that I use orgonite to make a buffer zone around my yard but would love to do more.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Hi C,
    A Reiki Healing Attunement is a technique only learned in a Reiki Level 3 (Master or Master Teacher) class, and doing one requires having had a Level 3 Initiation Attunement. If you’re had earlier levels of Reiki training, you can use the Distant Healing Symbol to put Reiki on continuous flow, but I can’t explain here how to do a Healing Attunement on a neighborhood. šŸ™‚ Orgonite is powerful stuff!

    Like

Leave a Reply

