Resentment

Resentment is high on the list of illness/trauma/”accident” triggers, and this post offers some excellent tools for recognizing how resentment grows and why. It also offers eight powerful questions to ask yourself as a way of becoming more conscious of the Shadow — where resentment often hides — so that you can release the toxins before they wreak their full havoc in your life. Some language warning for those with sensitive “ears,” but this is a highly recommended, contemplative read for anyone wanting to take proactive steps on all levels of healing.

Profane Light

“When you resent a man, you become his slave. He wrecks your meals, destroys your peace of mind and stalks you everywhere. He is with you when you’re awake and invades your dreams when you sleep. He’s beside you when you’re at work and goes along on your vacations. He might even steal your last moment of consciousness before you die…” – Anonymous

Resentment is a feeling of bitter indignation for having been treated unfairly, a judgment that others have hurt us or fucked us over or haven’t done enough for us. It arises because anger isn’t expressed and discharged directly, as an immediate emotional-energetic response to some event that is happening in the present. When the energy of anger remains bottled up, it keeps re-feeding on itself, or regurgitating, and turns into resentment. That is the root of the word resent, to re-feel the original pain without discharging or…

View original post 1,015 more words

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Victoria Carbe-Chen on May 25, 2015 at 3:32 pm

    This came appropriately after a long night unable to shut off my mind angry with resentment over family betrayals of a lifetime culminating recently. Thank you for this reminder!

    Victoria Valentino Friend of Jaya Thompson who referred me to your blog!

    Sent from a place of Light

    >

    Like

  2. Posted by seattle72 on May 25, 2015 at 4:30 pm

    Great article. So much more relateable than what the author described as the ‘syrupy’ advice to ‘forgive’ that is typically offered.

    This makes so much more sense to me. When I searched my heart and came up short on being able to ‘forgive’, I felt ashamed and even more inadequate because I couldn’t muster what I ‘should’ have been able to if I was truly a ‘good’ person.

    Reframing how I view life, the many acts within this grand stage play, and the roles each character has played truly has a transmutational effect on these bitter, resentful emotions. Good stuff to chew on this fine Sunday morning. 🙂

    Thank you and Happy Belated Birthday to you!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I am so glad I read this, I am really behind on blog posts that I want to read but the title jumped out at me . . I have not resonated with the act of forgiveness as I felt it was not mine to dispense. I also don’t know that I have seen much appropriate discharging of emotion so this is, as you say, definitely something to contemplate.
    Asserting my own sovereign power in choosing what I will and will not hold on to seems so obvious now. . .all I can say is . . . duh? why did I not think of that before 😛
    Thank you, Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Posted by Kieron on May 25, 2015 at 9:43 pm

    Timely. I was just meeting a friend for coffee today and while he was ordering, I sat down to check email and there was the blog heading– thwack! Right between the eyes I knew it was no coincidence, because once the meeting was agreed on yesterday, I had asked for guidance on the matter of this person’s past and present behavior because it was stirring up… mm-hmm… resentment!. I was dreading this visit, almost, because I didn’t want to stir up the sediment. But late in the visit, he mentioned being swamped with a really low mood that was becoming chronic and in fact, it had incapacitated him for 2 weeks. The low mood was directly leading to the behavior that triggered my feelings. And right before my eyes the statement from Profane Light came true: “… of how we ourselves are often swayed into unconscious reactions and mechanical behaviors, makes us more sensitive and tolerant of other people’s foibles, mistakes and automatisms, even when they hurt us.

    I think it’s interesting that even when we KNOW better, this stuff still manages to trip us up. 😦 Well, maybe this time the lesson will stick. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful post. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

