Wild Medicinal Plant Profile– Reishi Mushrooms (ganoderma tsugae), or, The Mystery of the Stumps Revisited

I found this 2013 post after reading Willowcrow’s latest post about wild violets, of which we have plenty! https://druidgarden.wordpress.com/2015/05/11/wild-food-recipes-maple-candied-violets-and-honeyed-violets/

I expected to find information on growing or using Reishi, but the story connected to this post is such an encouraging and profound example of Earth healing that I felt it needed a repost. Well worth a contemplative read, and you’ll learn something about Reishi mushrooms, too. 🙂

The Druid's Garden

In a post I wrote about over year ago, I told the story of the “mystery of the stumps” where I described my relationship to the forest where I grew up, the forest to which I belong.  I told the tale of a forest with mysterious stumps that my cousins and I couldn’t explain, and later, when I was 14, seeing the loggers come through and being devastated by the experience.  I told the tale of the regrowth and healing of that forest as I ventured back in after many years, and the healing lessons that that forest provided.  And now, there is a new chapter to tell–the healing medicine that the forest produced out of those cut stumps.

Stump with reishi growing!  These ones are too far gone to harvest, but they still make a lovely sight. Stump with reishi growing! These ones are too far gone to harvest, but they still make a lovely sight.

This week, I took a trip back to my parents’…

View original post 898 more words

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Lara Rosenheim on February 5, 2017 at 11:44 am

    Great information! Reishi rocks. I buy my stuff from bellaphi.com Good quality and it tastes awesome. Love the chaga too. Pure engery! Mushrooms for the future! Take care and keep the good work up!
    love lara

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

