Door Number 11 (The Star Card)

The Star Card/Door Number 11 by Laura Bruno

Door Number 11 was another commissioned piece at a secret location. As far as portals go, this one involved more prep time than usual. The patron wanted energy of the surrounding pristine forests embedded into the door itself, which required this Chicago artist to spend a week hiking and relaxing in some of the most gorgeous country I’ve ever seen. Yes, it was heavenly and a welcome change of scenery. šŸ™‚

Laura Bruno prepping for Door Number 11

Before I paint a commissioned portal, I always spend some time gethering a sense of what the patron needs and wants in life right now and in the future. Many times, but not always, those hopes and intentions suggest a tarot card to me, and I research different artistic interpretations already “out there.” Then I spend time in the actual home, noting style, colors, and overall “feel.” I also like to get people talking about whatever feeds their souls — do they return again and again to particular images, myths or cultures? If so, I try to work some of those into the door, honoring the original energy of the tarot card, but personalizing it.

If a patron has dreams or synchronicities while I’m painting, I pay particular attention to those, as well as my own dreams and nudges. In the case of Door Number 11, the patron dreamt of the back mantra and also requested “faery energy” on the door. I opted to change the typical nude woman into a faery, and we were both pleased with the results. I then used Runes to code the door’s textures and threshold to exactly those elements most important to the patron’s healing and intentions. For confidentiality reasons, I am not explaining ALL the details of this door, but the patron is happy to share the image and some of the explanation with the world. We hope you enjoy the portal!

Door Number 11 by Laura Bruno

The Star card is number 17 in the tarot deck and it usually features a nude woman with two urns. From one urn she pours water into a pond and from the other onto the land. Because of the urns, this card is associated with Aquarius, “the water bearer,” as well as the Age of Aquarius and its connection to the astrology and the stars. For more on the Star Card, please click here.

closeup of Door Number 11 by Laura Bruno

The card features eight eight-pointed stars, which correspond to an ancient Masonic symbol, l’etoile flamboyante. One thing I feel called to share in these portals is a reclaiming of ancient symbols, including Runes and symbols that may have been appropriated by groups or organizations using them for personal gain. I’m not singling out the Masons here, btw, just explaining what appears to be a broader intention of these doors — helping people to reclaim powerful tools, which have been taken away, hidden (occult means hidden) or otherwise denied access. Tarot, Runes, Sacred Geometry, Numerology, Astrology and other symbols or systems that speak to the subconscious do not belong to any one particular group. Part of our shift on this planet involves lightworkers reclaiming the tools at their disposal.

In any case, the eight eight-pointed stars carry much significance. Among other things: 8 x 8 = 64; 64 codons to human DNA; 64 possible readings in the I Ching; 64 squares on a chess board; and 64 is an important and common number represented in binary code.

Dragonfly closeup

The Star Card often shows and Ibis in a tree as reference to the Egyptian God, Thoth; however, the patron doesn’t resonate with that tradition. We opted instead for a dragonfly, which carries both personal and universal signficance.

Bottom quote for Door Number 11

As with all commissioned doorways, the thresholds are also coded to specific intentions. Thresholds offer potent energy, existing as they do “in the spaces between”:

Threshold Coding of Door Number 11

More Threshold Coding of Door Number 11

As mentioned earlier, the other side of Door Number 11 came from the patron’s dream, as well as some of my own dream symbols. The mantra, “Om Namo Bhagavate Vasudeevaya” strengthens the aura and seemed like an appropriate one for inside a meditation and healing room. It translates roughly to: O my Lord, the all-pervading Personality of Godhead, I offer my respectful obeisances unto You.

The Other Side of Door Number 11 by Laura Bruno

Mantra on the inside of Door Number 11

I had fun painting the symbol, which morphed from an intended Flower of Life mandala into one expressing the Trinity:

Laura Bruno painting Door Number 11

Trinity on the inside of Door Number 11

Door Number 11 holds a special place in my heart, especially since 11 is my own life path number and because I also resonate strongly with faeries. I completed Door Number 12 in the same home and will post photos of that one soon. Thanks to everyone who finds these portal journeys fun as well. For more information about having me create a portal for you in your home, office or business, please email me at brunoleaf at yahoo dot com.

Many Blessings!

15 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shannon on August 26, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    Beautiful!! Thanks for the inspiration.

    Like

  2. Posted by Giacinta on August 26, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    Thank you, Laura for sharing this beautiful and insightful post! I was moved and excited and inspired and warmed to my core. I loved hearing about how you go about preparing to paint the doors and how very personal and intimate everything becomes and how it unfolds. How deeply you tune into your heart and soul, the universe, the patron and all the blessed and benevolent entities and energies to create the amazing portals. I loved hearing about the details and the significance of what you decided to paint. I also appreciate so much being able to take a close up look at your work so this post really spoiled me in a variety of ways! šŸ™‚ Your work is brilliant, tender, loving, supportive and so wonderfully compassionate. I imagine you leave not only your amazing art work and it’s significance but also an infinite amount of magic and healing energy for all to enjoy! Thank you again for this great post! šŸ™‚ I love it and you!!! šŸ™‚ xoxo

    Like

  3. Posted by Timananda on August 26, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    exquisite, Laura

    Like

  4. Posted by laurabruno on August 26, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    Thank you all for all the comments and enthusiasm. Many blessings and much love! xo

    Like

  5. Posted by Nancy Coscione on August 26, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    Thank you for sharing! I enjoyed reading about your process and the significance of this portal to both you and your client! Very beautiful portal. My life path number is 11 also!

    Like

  6. Posted by laurabruno on August 26, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Very cool, Nancy! Thanks and you’re welcome. šŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Found this blog through ‘Walking in Stillness.’ What a beautiful gesture to invite people to recognize the magic to be found by passing through their own physical and non-physical doorways into the timeless world of spirit. Your energy is delightful.

    Like

  8. Posted by laurabruno on August 27, 2010 at 3:38 am

    Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting! šŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Posted by antzep on August 27, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    Wow! I think this one is your best yet, LB.

    Like

  10. Posted by laurabruno on August 27, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    Thanks!

    Like

  11. […] Card, Visionary Art Door Number 12 is another commissioned piece, located in the same hallway as Door Number 11. I hadn’t planned to paint a second door there, but the patron felt so happy with Door Number […]

    Like

  12. […] realities, joined and working together. The woman commissioning this painting really loves Door Number 11, though, so she requested more of a faery feel to Temperance. She looks kind of like a psychedelic […]

    Like

  13. […] my sleep. Bees have close associations with faeries and the Divine Feminine. When I painted doors 11 and 12 in 2010 in Canada, a shaman came to see me at my request. I had been “told” […]

    Like

  14. […] truth shall set you free! I coded this affirmation into the threshold of portal Door Number 11, and as we approach the potent gateway of 12/12/12, those words want to scream and dance inside my […]

    Like

  15. […] truth shall set you free! I coded this affirmation into the threshold of portal Door Number 11, and as we approach the potent gateway of 12/12/12, those words want to scream and dance inside my […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

