Door Number 8: Ten of Cups

Door Number 8 began as a tall and impossibly skinny project that proved most challenging to reveal the inner vision that had begun to haunt me. I tried and tried to find a different door that would provide an easier work surface for this particular image, but it appears that the Ten of Cups wanted this door. Having completed it, I can kind of see why. There’s a lot more flow than a two or more paneled door would have allowed.

The bottom quote seems appropriate: “Happiness often sneaks in through a door you didn’t realize you left open.” To learn more about the Ten of Cups, please click here. For some reason, the Runes down the front called out to be Schizandra Ginger Parker, and the Chinese on the right is Wu Wei Zi (Schizandra chinensis), both from my novel, Schizandra and the Gates of Mu. That surprised me, but I don’t argue with inspiration. 😉 Enjoy!

Ten of Cups Door by Laura Bruno (Front)

Detail Ten of Cups Door by Laura Bruno (Rainbow)

Detail Ten of Cups Door by Laura Bruno (Children Dancing)

Detail Ten of Cups Door by Laura Bruno (Stallion)

Back of the Ten of Cups Door by Laura Bruno

Front of Ten of Cups by Laura Bruno

This may or may not be my last door painted in this apartment. I’m honestly not sure! The remaining doors in the attic are either very large, screened, or very odd shapes. The remaining space in my apartment is similarly interesting. We … shall … see…

Many Blessings!

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mindy on May 3, 2010 at 1:39 am

    Beautiful door. I love the blue background color. I followed the link to read about ten of cups. I didn’t see a mention of the stallion in the symbols. What does that part convey for you?

    Like

  2. Posted by laurabruno on May 3, 2010 at 3:47 am

    To be honest, I’m not 100% sure why the stallion wanted to be there either. The simple answer is that I needed something white and blue below and two different friends who don’t know each other recently mentioned Lippizener Stallions to me. When I checked them out, I liked the idea of something military turning into something that dances. As an English major with an Art History minor, I’m sure I could come up with all sorts of theories, but I’ve stopped arguing with whatever decides to come through on these doors. It’s pointless. The images just haunt my dreams until I paint them! 🙂

    Like

  3. Whoa the stallion is your steed there for you to ride through the door and into dancing your dreams awake. Love your work.x

    Like

  4. Posted by laurabruno on May 3, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    Oh, Ruthie, I like that interpretation! Thanks and love, xxx

    Like

  5. I love the dancing children, too. So joyful and light-filled! Beautiful.

    Like

  6. Posted by laurabruno on May 6, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Thanks so much!

    Like

  7. Posted by lasaslav on May 8, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Loved this door, Laura! I’m convinced that a showing of your doors in a gallery is in your near future.

    I too loved the children dancing — captured true joy and happiness.

    Ironically, I hadn’t realized you were an English Major/Art History Minor. I was a Fine Arts Major/English Minor in college!

    Lots of love to you,
    Lea

    Like

  8. Posted by laurabruno on May 8, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    Thanks and love, Lea! We’ll see what manifests … I did find a Door Number 9 and am painting it now. 🙂

    Like

  9. […] feel blessed to have so many forms of love in so many areas of life. I truly feel like the Ten of Cups every single day. Yesterday, shortly after I posted photos from Grandma Van’s 100th Birthday […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

